Q&A’s with Vince: A Rowan Football Story

On Wednesday evening, October 2nd 2019, I got to sit down with Vince Scian, a senior at Rowan University who has been writing at The Whit for the last two years. Vince is in charge of the sports department for the school newspaper and has plenty of knowledge about what’s going on. I choose to interview him because since he has been at The Whit longer than I have, I felt he is a great individual the people can get answers from and is a very reliable source. I also felt he is a voice that even I could listen to, and maybe learn some things about the subject that I haven’t yet. I wanted to see if he could me just what I wanted to know about the current state of Rowan Football.  Here’s what he had to say about Rowan’s Football team:

Q: Where do you think Rowan football is right now and where are they going?

A: Well they’re not in a great spot right now. They’re 0-3, they’ve had a couple of pretty bad losses where they looked really bad in the second half. They’re talking about how they need to tighten up the game in the second half and cut on the penalties. So they hopefully they think they’re going in a good direction and clean it up. What’s going wrong for them is very obvious, so I think once they fix those few things they’ll be going to a pretty decent record. I can see them getting back to .500.

Q: What do you think is wrong right now and how do you think they can improve?

A: Penalties. Penalties is really where it’s hurting them and then they’re play in the second half. I mean, you saw it against Hobart, they were up 17-3 and then ended up losing 20-17. So they really gotta lock down in the second half and they gotta be more disciplined. Not take as many penalties because that is killing them and giving other teams yards is not helping them at all.

Listen for audio below:

Q: Would you agree that they’re struggling because they are a young team?

A: I think they have some good older talent on the team. The other quarterback is a transfer and yes their back ups quarterbacks a transfer, but theirs enough guys on the team that have been around long enough like the senior captains and just the way a football locker room works. There’s enough guys that have been there long enough that they should be able to help out the new guys and let them know what is going on. Once they get their usual opponents they should be able to smooth this thing out.

Listen for audio below:

Q: Do you think if the season continues to go this way could there be a change?

A: Jay Accorsi (head coach) has been here since the dawn of time. I mean he’s been here forever. I think his record is pretty close to .500, If not .500. So if history shows anything its that they’ll come back and be pretty close to .500. Record wise their a lot like the Redskins, which means they’re gonna finish pretty average. So if history says anything they’ll get near .500 but I don’t think there’s any chance they fire Accorsi. I just don’t see that happening.

Q: Do you have any inside information on what the players are thinking right now and what is going on inside the locker room? How do you think they can come together to save the season?

A: They’re not happy. They know that they let the most recent game slip away. I’m not hearing exactly what they’re saying, but I mean they really just need the older guys to lock down and just be the leaders they need to be in the locker room and they can bounce back and have a better season.

“They really just need the older guys to lock down and just be the leaders they need to be in the locker room and they can bounce back and have a better season.”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started